NEHS 9th Grade

9th Grade Academy

Vice Principal: Mr. Brad McDaniel

SLC Coordinator: Dawn Marie Davis

Assistant SLC Coordinator: Devan Stratton

 

Mission Statement:

The Ninth Grade Academy is a Small LearningCommunity developed with the goal of transitioning students through the final part of the “middle years”. The Ninth Grade Academy strives to foster freshmen onto a successful path, opening up the world of lifelong learning to our students. Specifically, we are working to help students make the transition to high school, using prior knowledge to bridge the gaps in understanding. We will foster in our students the desire to exceed expectations, achieve at their highest level, and develop a respect for the world surrounding them. From the Ninth Grade Academy, students will transition to specific programs geared towards their academic aptitudes in the performing or fine arts, health sciences, business, technology, or advanced academic pursuits. As part of our Comprehensive offerings for 9th-grade students, we have a growing Project-Based Learning Transition Program. This program culminates in a well thought out, researched, cooperative group project that blends all core subject areas. The importance of this program lies in the importance of making freshmen students take accountability for their actions and understand that high school success requires work. Additionally, we have opportunities for accelerated academics as part of our Academics Plus Cohort, a small cohort of students within the Ninth Grade Academy, which offers a rigorous education and prepares students for thinking about post-secondary school options. Students in this cohort will be enrolled in advanced core classes, including world language, and be directed towards challenging themselves academically during their sophomore, junior, and senior years. As part of this cohort, ninth-grade students will receive curriculum and instruction that consistently challenges them to expand their content knowledge and skills to the next level. By harnessing the development of skills and acquisition of knowledge in ninth grade, we know that students will be ready for higher intellectual engagement in Advanced Placement and Advanced classes as upperclassmen.

 

Courses

English 1

Students in English I will read a variety of works, including novels, short stories, poetry, drama, and myths. Students will study grammar in conjunction with writing and will follow the writing process to produce quality compositions. Students will read with greater comprehension through the development of higher-order thinking skills and the acquisition of new vocabulary. Students are expected to participate in class discussions which will focus on the ability to interpret and analyze the reading covered in class. Students will work to improve reading and writing skills to better prepare them for the State Keystone Exams administered in 10th grade.

Algebra 1

World History

Physical Science
Physical science is an introductory course designed to allow students to explore the basic concepts of scientific principles. Students will be introduced to the history and nature of science as it applies to the practical world. The course includes an introduction to the fundamental concepts of biology, chemistry, earth science, and physics designed to prepare students for Biology in their 10th Grade Year as well as the State Keystone Exam.

Spanish 1, French 1, Italian 1, or Chinese 1 (Advanced classes available for native speakers.)

Physical Education & Health

Goals for 9th Grade Academy

The 9th Grade Academy provides support to students entering Northeast from the neighborhood feeder programs. As a team, teachers address fundamental educational skills that lay the groundwork for student success upon their acceptance into one of our career-specific Small Learning Communities. Students matriculating from the 9th Grade Academy are prepared with a strong educational foundation so that they may find success in any career path that they choose.

News, Events, and Student Work

Outward Bound

  The 9th Grade Academy has partnered with the Outward Bound School to provide our students with the opportunity to take part in authentic experiential learning outside of the classroom. The Outward Bound School is devoted to encouraging self-discovery, growth, and inspiring confidence, self-reliance, leadership, character, compassion, and service to self, others and the environment. We are looking forward to more trips this year.

 

Freshmen Pinning Ceremony

Ninth Grade students showed their commitment and dedication to education in our 2nd Annual Freshman Pinning Ceremony. Students heard from Student Leaders and Administration as the faculty pledged to support students in their path to graduation.

 

 

Students signed their commitment on a “Class of 2023” Banner that we cannot wait to proudly display for the next 4 years and when this incredible class reaches graduation. As a symbol and reminder of the pledge students made toward their education, they were given pins to proudly wear on their school ties.

Teacher List & Contact Information

English 1

Ms. Dawn Marie Davis- Email: dadavis@philasd.org

Ms. Zahra Tees-  Email: ztees@philasd.org

Ms. Sarah Negron- Email: snegron@philasd.org

Mr. James Murphy- Email: jtmurphy@philasd.org

Algebra 1

Mr. Brent Ryan- Email: bryan@philasd.org

Ms. Anita Romano- Email: aromano@philasd.org

Mr. Justin Rosenbaum-  Email: jrosenbaum@philasd.org

Mr. Victor Snyder- Email: vsnyder@philasd.org

Physical Science

Ms. Devan Stratton- Email: dnrodgers@philasd.org

Ms. Shannon Jones- Email: shmjones@philasd.org

Ms. Rosalind Williams- Email: rrwilliams@philasd.org

Ms. Vijay Parmar- Email: wparmar@philasd.org

World History

Ms. Michelle Willemin- Email: mwillemin@philasd.org

Mr. Alan Seim- Email: aseim@philasd.org

Mr. Fred Firmani- Email: ffirmani@philasd.org

Ms. Lauren Ball- Email: lball@philasd.org

World Language 

Ms. Deborah Armijo – Email: darmijo@philasd.org

Ms. Alyson Margolies – Email: amargolies@philasd.org

Mr. Edwin Miranda – Email: emiranda@philasd.org

Ms. Marla Lambert – Email: mlambert@philasd.org

Ms. Tabitha Shea – Email: tshea@philasd.org

Mr. Thomas Wolifinger – Email: twwolfinger@philasd.org

Ms. Asunta Curto – Email: acurto@philasd.org